Turn Up The Instagram Heat

Grab the exceptional offers and boost your Instagram account!

I'm in!

How to Know If Someone Restricted You on Instagram DM?

How to know if someone restricted you on Instagram DM?

One of Instagram’s main focus is placed on giving its users the power to prevent having to deal with any sort of abusive behavior. 

For this reason, the Instagram restrict feature on direct messages is rolled out in addition to restrictions on comments and the IG account as a whole. 

The aim of this article is to discuss what “restrict on Instagram DM” is, how to restrict someone on Instagram, how to unrestrict someone on Instagram, and how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram DM.

What does Restrict do on Instagram?

As a more subtle alternative to block, the Instagram restrict feature is introduced to let you stop seeing any spiteful content without letting the users know that you have taken any actions against them. 

Once, their messages are hidden from your profile, it would be like keeping the cyberbullies out without declaring your intention. 

What Happens when you Restrict someone on Instagram DM?

Should an Instagram restricted account send you a DM, you will not receive a notification. Instead, in order to access their DMs, you will have to go to “Hidden requests” through the “request tabs” in your Instagram profile. Here is how. 

  • First, you need to go to your Instagram profile home page.
  • After that tap the paper plane in the top-right corner of the screen and select “request”.
  • Basically, the request tab has two main sections – DMs sent by users whom you are not following and hidden requests. It is the “Hidden requests” tab that you need to see.

  • Now, you will be able to see all restricted Instagram DMs either by you or Instagram itself. Yes, in its new update, Instagram also restricts DMs mainly consisting of abusive words or emojis automatically.
  • In this way, you will never have to even deal with an abusive Instagram DM. However, you should note that if you open the message, there will be three options for you to choose from – Block, Delete, Accept. On top of that, reading the message without accepting it will never notify the Instagram restricted account.

Can you DM someone if they Restricted you?

As mentioned earlier, restricted Instagram accounts can send you DMs. nevertheless, you won’t have to see the messages as Instagram does not send you a notification. Also, it is true the other way round.

If you are a restricted Instagram account, you will be able to send DMs without even being aware of the fact that you are restricted. 

So, how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram DM? 

Since Instagram doesn’t warn the restricted user, this merits proper consideration before you can be sure. 

How to know if someone Restricted you on Instagram DM?

If you ever wonder how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram DM, you should keep in mind that “restrict on Instagram” can happen to anyone. It could happen to you for respective reasons. Say, you seemed too pushy when you tried to strike a conversation without using the best ways to slide into someone’s DMs, or you can be restricted even by someone you know when they simply decide that they don’t like to communicate with you anymore.

In any case, the point is that Instagram doesn’t let you know that you are restricted. So, you should comprehend it on your own. 

It won’t be an official method, yet it can be effective to a great extent. If your message has remained unseen for a long time, you have probably been restricted. The thing is they can read your DM without accepting it, hence, it will be never marked as “seen” for you. Try sending them a DM in case they have forgotten to check your message in their inbox. If the same thing happens, it means your DMs don’t reach the top of their inbox. This leads you to the conclusion that “restrict on Instagram” is highly likely to be the case. 

How to Manage your DM Inbox on Instagram more Effectively?

If you get tons of DMs during the day, it will gradually get harder to prioritize the DMs you need to respond to. As a result, it isn’t unusual to miss a DM beneath a pile of unread and read messages. 

In some cases, your audience could misunderstand you and get the impression that you don’t care about them or even they may think they are restricted. To prevent this and manage your DM inbox more effectively, The DMpro app has great offers for its users. In particular, DMpro enhances your DM inbox in two different ways.  

  1. You can use the inbox on DMpro that forwards all messages from your Instagram to it, in addition to the feature that lets you filter your IG messages.

2. DMpro allows you to connect your IG inbox to your email so that you can read and respond to your DMs through any email box of your choice – Yahoo, Google, Outlook, etc. 

On top of that, this feature enables you to use your email as one of the best Instagram DM savers for Instagram.

 

Watch this video about how to manage your DM inbox through your email

 

All you need to do is to sign up for free on DMpro. The sign-up form is simple with a few questions without a credit number required. 

How to Unrestrict someone on Instagram?

You can adopt 3 approaches to using Instagram restrict feature. In the following, you can learn about them and also how to unrestrict someone on Instagram using each technique. 

  • Restrict and unstrict someone on Instagram DM

This approach only restricts your interaction with another user through direct messages. Here are the instructions. 

  • First, go to Instagram and tap on the paper plane on the right corner of the screen. Here, you can see the list of your contacts in your DM inbox.

  • Next, select the user you wish to restrict on Instagram DM and tap on “restrict”. This will remove your conversation from your inbox and transport it to the “requests” tab.

  • Now, to unrestrict someone on Instagram, you can go to the “requests” tab and select the account you have restricted.

  • Finally, tap on the “Unrestrict”.

2. Restrict and Unrestrict someone with Instagram Settings

To restrict and unrestrict a user on Instagram through the settings follow the instructions below. 

  • Go to your Instagram profile.

  • Then, select the settings and scroll down to see the restrict option. Through here you can restrict and unrestrict any user you wish.

3. Restrict and Unrestrict someone through the Users’ Accounts

Either through your followers’ list, following list or explorer find the account you wish to restrict or unrestrict. Tap on the 3-dot button on the top right of the screen and select to restrict or unrestrict that user. 

Conclusion

Instagram restricted feature is an effective way to prevent abusive users without warning them. However, there is another side to this – you can never be sure if you are an Instagram restricted account as Instagram doesn’t send any notifications regarding the restrict on Instagram. 

Nevertheless, to learn how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram DM you, Instagram might not send you a notification or officially let you know that you are restricted, but you can still check whether you DM is marked as seen or not.